ETHGlobal Community Update #1

Meet the ETHGlobal Mod Team

ETHGlobal
7 min readFeb 16, 2023

Welcome to our first Community Update, a new content series devoted to all the incredible things happening in the ETHGlobal Community. Over the next few months, we’ll cover the topics that we think don’t get enough buzz elsewhere. From documenting new projects to Community Member highlights, and everything in between, these updates will help you keep up with all we have planned!

🔍 What is the ETHGlobal Mod Program?

The ETHGlobal Community is a diverse group of web3 developers and creatives that supports a community that grows by the second. Being one of the most vibrant communities in web3 isn’t a simple task. You might be aware of the effort that it takes to run events at our scale, but most people don’t see the work that goes on behind the scenes in our Discord. Since the second half of last year, a team of Moderators has been working around the clock to promote healthy conversation and uphold our Community values in our Discord. Tasked with protecting the inclusivity of a server of over 35,000+ users, our Mods have been essential in delivering the ETHGlobal Community experience that you’ve come to enjoy.

🏋️ What do our Mods do?

Hackers working at ETHSanFrancisco last Fall.

Our Mod Program is a long-term cohort designed to help web3 newcomers or existing builders deepen their web3 knowledge by providing them with hands-on experience with one of our ecosystem’s most important communication tools — Discord.

By helping out in our server, cohort members are offered a chance to get their hands dirty, replying to questions, stimulating conversation, hosting community calls, and keeping the 35k+ community moving in a positive direction.

Mod Team members Ifeloluwa & Adedamola hosted our recent Community Call.

😄 Who participates?

We chose 10 moderators from 8 different countries and numerous time zones in order to efficiently serve the “always-on” needs of a global community. We looked to find people that had personable energy, good communication skills, and most importantly a passion for web3. After going through our onboarding training program, these 10 moderators embedded themselves within our community and became quickly visible to our hackers during online events.

Though we are not currently onboarding new mods, the opportunity for Cohort #2 might open soon, so keep an eye out for more info!

👋 Meet a few of our Mods

Our Mods act as an extension of the ETHGlobal team, helping people find their place in our community by making them feel comfortable and included. We anticipate that this program will grow to scale to the needs of our community, and this first cohort has been a crucial step in that direction. Meet some of the friendly faces you can spot in our Discord!

Daniela Marotazo

My name is Daniela Marotazo, I’m 22 years old and I’m an audiovisual communication student from Piura, Peru. My journey in crypto started last year when I heard about NFTs, I remember I didn’t understand a thing and -as the curious person I am- that was exactly what got me digging and finding out that there was a lot besides just valuable tokens, it was a piece of the whole internet evolution.

During my research, I got into female communities which were fundamental for my education, growth, and search for opportunities. Through them, it was where I found the ETHGlobal application and later the Devcon scholarship from the Ethereum Foundation that took me to the World Cup of crypto last October.

For me building community in Web 3.0 is key, it is what gathers people into a conversation, a hackathon group, or a big project. And that’s the main reason that I’m very passionate about being able to mod one through ETHGlobal and soon in my local community. At the moment I’m mostly interested in the uses of crypto in retail (fashion and makeup specifically) and also the education and community field for which I’m developing Web 3.0 intro courses to build a crypto community in Piura and also a metaverse project, both projects in collaboration with CryptoAmigos DAO (a former Peruvian community) and my university, Universidad de Piura.

Ig: Daniela_mw

Twitter: incakolitazero

LinkedIn: Daniela Marotazo

Jhonny Vianello

Hello everyone and nice to meet you! I’m Jhonny Vianello, a Full Stack Developer and Italian Student. Passionate about technology since childhood, I’ve always loved helping people and family members in this area so much that, in my course of study, I’ve always helped my classmates by becoming a point of reference and leader. I currently support and contribute on the Ethereum Ecosystem (Blockchain Technology) to help people and improve our future. In particular, I support projects like ethereum.org in many ways and work as Discord Community Moderator at ETHGlobal. These contributions and experiences have allowed me (and still allow me) to improve myself and stay up to date on any topics of our ecosystem. In all of this, I also started a personal business: ETHVenice. The main purpose of it is to educate more people about this technology so that they can better understand it to avoid being scammed and, above all, understand the difference between the potential of this and the only speculation; we hold Monthly Meetups and an IRL Event in Venice, supported by the Ethereum Foundation. I would like to thank all the ETHGlobal Team for this adventure and I hope to give my best in the future on everything. I can’t wait to meet some of you, Let’s connect!

LinkedIn: Jhonny Vianello

Twitter: @JhonnyVianello

Instagram: @jhonnyvianello

Jade

Hihi, I am your fren Jade, and I am currently studying information technology in Australia. I previously served in Beep (@beep_crypto), the pioneering NFT community in China, which initiated the branding of a series of world-class projects such as WHALE Members, The Sandbox, and YGG. It was a lucky chance (or just destiny) that I was successfully selected for the ETHGlobal mod program in the year 2022. Formed from hackers around the world, Chloe has led the mod team to accomplish many milestones together (e.g., community calls), making our discord community a more vibrant and impactful venue. We will be doing more in the new year; like offering more vertical guides and opportunities for hackers, providing special exposure and support for female practitioners, and many more. Let’s witness these together!

Twitter: @Jade_32123

Adedamola

Hii I’m Adedamola, Community Lead by day at ETHGlobal. At night I fight bugs for my life and try to find solutions to working projects as a Web Dev.

In that sense, I like to describe myself as a bounty hunter in web3’s wild west. At least that’s the way I see the burgeoning ecosystem; where there is so much opportunity, creativity, and room for growth. I still find it as fascinating today as I did the first time I read the Ethereum docs.

Hackathons to me, have been a big part of this creative process. There are technologies, products, and devs being produced right now that will be important for the decentralized future we are pushing for. ETHGlobal’s role in this cannot be overstated as we are literally the repository of some of the most exciting projects coming out of the Ethereum ecosystem in recent years!

Even though it’s early days as they say, you can tell from the flowers that this work will be pretty fruitful! The community at ETHGlobal has made me feel that a big part of our work is like pollination; providing the right information and resources for flowers to grow and flourish within the ecosystem but beyond that, it’s recognizing that we ourselves are flowers, and I think this is because of the enriching work that we do. For that am happy to be a part of the water watering the garden @ETHGlobal

Twitter: @cyberroninn

LinkedIn: Adedamola XL

GitHub: AdedamolaXL

Ifeoluwa Oderinde

Hi, I’m Ifeoluwa Oderinde (a.k.a owanikin) from Lagos Nigeria. I’m a software engineer, community builder, and technical content creator who got into this rabbit hole after reading the Bitcoin white paper and instantly knew this is where I want to be. Current trends I am interested in are Defi, ZK proof & Modular blockchains. Being an ETHGlobal Mod has definitely been a great opportunity to work with really smart people from across the world, make friends and contribute my own quota to this ever-inspiring ecosystem. I am always in the developers-lounge channel on the ETHGlobal discord server should you want to reach out or you can reach me on Twitter.

Twitter: @owanikin

🤔 Want to join the ETHGlobal Community?

If you’re looking to dip your toes into the fast-moving waters of the web3 ecosystem, our community is perfect for you. What started out as friends working to build the hackathons they wished they could’ve attended, the ETHGlobal Community has grown into a hub for web3 developers and creatives from almost every continent on the planet (still looking to make some friends in Antarctica!) We have content, experiences, and opportunities designed for builders at every level, even if hackathons aren’t your thing. Even though we aren’t onboarding any new Mods at the moment, the opportunity for Cohort #2 might open soon, keep an eye out for more info!

👉 Want to see what everyone’s talking about? Join the ETHGlobal Community today.

--

--

ETHGlobal

Onboarding thousands of developers to the Ethereum ecosystem. Supported by L4, SV Angel, and the Ethereum Foundation.